Close this search box.

ASCS Rocky Mountain Closes Season with Aztec Doubl

[b ASCS Rocky Mountain Closes Season with Aztec Double]

[i Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (September 15, 2009)]

The American Sprint Car Series Rocky Mountain Region is set to put the finishing touches on the 2009 season with this weekend’s 30th Annual Floyd Reynolds Memorial event at Aztec Speedway in Aztec, NM.

And, when the two nights of action come to a conclusion with Saturday night’s final checkered flag, one thing will be certain; there will be a ninth different ASCS Rocky Mountain champion in as many years.

Precisely who claims the crown is the remaining question.

Holding the edge entering the weekend double is 17-year-old Rapid City, SD, racer Jake Ossenfort. But, Ossenfort’s advantage of just 36 points is anything but safe.

Waiting to pounce on any slip is Jeremy McCune of Billings, MT, who picked up his first series feature win earlier this year after posting a runner-up finish in last year’s ASCS Rocky Mountain points.

Ranked third in series points entering the weekend is Kolter Kosten of Douglas, WY, with Mark Sweet of Rock Springs, WY, and Tucker McCune of Shepherd, MT, rounding out the current top five.

Race fans in New Mexico could also have a chance to see a different face in victory lane this weekend, as Johnny Herrera has topped the last twelve ASCS Rocky Mountain feature events contested in the Land of Enchantment, dating back to 2005.

Friday’s action fires off at 7:00 p.m., with Saturday’s card going green at 6:00 p.m.

Aztec Speedway is located in Aztec, NM, 1.2 miles south of US 550 on SR 544, then 0.2 miles east on Legion. For more information, contact the track at 505-334-2023.

The ninth year of action for the American Sprint Car Series Rocky Mountain Region is slated to consist of 13 events at six tracks throughout Wyoming, Montana, Idaho and New Mexico.

Past ASCS Rocky Mountain Region Feature Winners at Aztec Speedway:
9/19/08 – Johnny Herrera
9/18/08 – Johnny Herrera
5/31/08 – Johnny Herrera
5/30/08 – Johnny Herrera
9/15/07 – Johnny Herrera
9/14/07 – Johnny Herrera
6/3/06 – Johnny Herrera
6/2/06 – Johnny Herrera
6/4/05 – Johnny Herrera
6/3/05 – Jason Martin
6/5/04 – Jason Martin
6/4/04 – Jason Martin

The American Sprint Car Series, in its 18th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing events, brings the best of Sprint Car racing to nearly 100 different tracks throughout 25 states and Canada in 2009. Anchored by the Lucas Oil ASCS Sprint Car Dirt Series presented by K&N Filters, ASCS also consists of a dozen different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at