Close this search box.

ASCS Regions: What’s Happening This Week

Three ASCS Regions will see competition this weekend with one capping off their 2012 season.

While the ASCS Southwest Region continues their points battle into the month of November when they are joined by the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV for the Western World at Canyon Speedway Park, the Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP will be only a weekend away from closing their 2012 points hunt after this weekends visit north to Ohsweken Speedway for the Canadian Sprint Car Nationals.

At the other end of the map, the ASCS 305 division returns to the border towns of El Paso, Texas and Las Cruces, New Mexico for their final two nights of the 2012 season.

Sprints on Dirt:

Entering its eighth year of existence, the Canadian Sprint Car Nationals has quickly become a must attend event. In its first year, the Canadian oval saw 72 drivers in attendance with Kenny Jacobs taking the $5,000 check. Following Jacobs win in 2005, the 2006 and 2007 features were swept by Steve Poirier with the’06 event worth $6,000. In 2007 the event payout was upped again with Poirier taking a $7,000 payday.

Expanding to be an $8,000 to win event, Wayne Johnson grabbed the prize money in 2008 behind the wheel of the Arrow Express No. 94j.

Driving the Gaerte No. 3g in 2009 and 2010, it was Bixby, Oklahoma’s Shane Stewart who stood atop the podium. Again each year saw an increase in prize money with the 2009 and 2010 events paying $9,000 and $10,000.

The 2011 Canadian Sprint Car Nationals saw Sunnyvale, Texas native Sam Hafertepe Jr. take home $11,000 for his efforts.

True to form, this year’s 35 lap feature event will pay $12,000 to the winner. In total the championship event will pay out more than $64,000.

Presently there are 42 drivers pre-entered for the 2012 running of the Canadian Sprint Car Nationals. To see a list of all entered drivers visit

The Canadian Sprint Car Nationals is schedule for September 14th and 15th.

Southwest Region:

After joining the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV earlier this season at Yuma’s Cocopah Speedway, the ASCS Southwest Region returns to the Arizona oval this Saturday September 15th. Taking a 53 point advantage into this Saturday’s event, Rick Ziehl maintains his usual spot atop the points with the Southwest Region over Lance Norick. Taking his first ASCS victory at Aztec Speedway September 2nd, the Cave Creek, Arizona racer was able to shoot past Dalten Gabbard who trails Norick by 31.

ASCS 305

Looking at securing the inaugural ASCS 305 Championship, John Carney II will return to his home tracks this weekend for a Friday night at the El Paso Speedway Park and Saturday at the Southern New Mexico Speedway. With four wins on the season, Carney maintains a 44 point lead over Kyle McCutcheon and 54 over Derek Drown. Bill Briley III and Lorne Wofford make up the top five in driver standings.

Results and Stories from this weekend’s regional events will be posted as soon as possible.

For more information on the American Sprint Car Series log onto or follow us on Twitter @LucasOilASCS. The American Sprint Car Series can also be found on Facebook.

Photo Credit: Kenetic Photos