Close this search box.

ASCS Patriots Take on Ohsweken’s Best Friday

Rich Vleck, TULSA, Okla. (June 2, 2010) – The top drivers of the ASCS Patriot Region are ready to take on the Ohsweken Speedway this Friday, the question will be if they are ready for the speedway’s regulars.

The Patriots make their first of three stops during the 2010 summer at Glenn Styres’ Dirt Track Palace in Southern Ontario this Friday for the first race in the Fine Touch Collision King of the Golden Horseshoe Series. The season is young, but some drivers are already hoping that their past success at “The Big O” can turn into their first win in 2010.

Ohsweken has already hosted two of their weekly events so far this season as part of the Corr/Pak Merchandising Sprints. The action has been intense with a number of drivers finding their way to the front, including Kyle Moffit, who brought home his first win in five years on Friday. Moffit was also solid in both Patriot starts this past weekend, with a pair of top-five showings.

Bryan Howland has a pair of wins in his career at Ohsweken and enters the weekend as the 2010 overall point leader. Howland would have had a third win at the high-banked 3/8-mile had his nose wing not obstructed his view with three laps left to go in last year’s Northern Summer Nationals.

Jared Zimbardi is second in Patriot Points after scoring three straight runner-up finishes. The Little Valley, NY driver has run both of the events at Ohsweken this year, with a pair of top-five finishes. He has to be regarded as a favorite this weekend.

Tim Kelly got back on the championship trail this past weekend with two charges into the top-five. Kelly lead the first seven laps of the Canadian Sprint Car Nationals last year and could be a major factor this time around.

Among the other Patriot regulars ready to run the first Canadian Patriot race of the season are Don Adamczyk, Eriez Speedway winner Bubba Broderick, Scott Bonnell and the Breen Brothers.

Dave Dykstra currently leads a strong Ohsweken contingent, as the Corr/Pak point leader. Defending track champion Tom Huppunen looks to get back in the right direction after crashing last weekend. Kyle Patrick and Jamie Collard have also been a force out of the box with consummate frontrunners Glenn Styres, Keith Dempster and Kevin Job expected to be in the mix.

The race will use the Patriot Point format, counting only the Patriot members that have run a series race thus far in 2010. For more information, visit or

ASCS Patriot History at Ohsweken:
Races: 5
9/25/2004- Rick Wilson
5/6/2005- Kyle Wilson
7/14/2006- Bryan Howland
7/6/2007- Bobby Breen
8/14/2009- Trevor Lewis

ASCS Patriot History at Ohsweken with Multiple Sanction:
Races: 8
9/17/2005- Kenny Jacobs (Canadian Sprint Car Nationals)
9/16/2006- Steve Poirier (Canadian Sprint Car Nationals)
9/15/2007- Steve Poirier (Canadian Sprint Car Nationals)
7/3/2008- Dustin Daggett (ASCS Northern Summer Nationals)
7/4/2008- Bryan Howland (ASCS Northern Summer Nationals)
9/27/2008- Wayne Johnson (Canadian Sprint Car Nationals)
7/3/2009- Tom Huppunen (Northern Summer Nationals)
9/19/2009- Shane Stewart (Canadian Sprint Car Nationals)