Close this search box.

ASCS Midwest Wraps up Season with I-80 Double!

Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (September 12, 2011) – The Speedway Motors ASCS Midwest Region puts the wraps on the 2011 season with two full nights of racing action at Greenwood, Nebraska’s I-80 Speedway this Friday and Saturday.

Both nights of competition culminate with $3,000-to-win feature events, with $400 to start in each night’s feature.

With 17 nights of competition logged into the books, Springfield, Nebraska’s Jack Dover has locked up his second ASCS Midwest championship as he carries a 463-point lead over Jordon Boston into the weekend.

Colorado’s Bryan Gossel holds down third in points, with North Dakota’s Lee Grosz and Missouri’s Brian Brown rounding out the top five. The rest of the top ten includes Wayne Johnson, Billy Alley, Gregg Bakker, Jeff Osborn and Danny Lasoski.

Brian Brown has topped the last three ASCS Midwest events at I-80 Speedway and five of the last seven. Ten of Brown’s ASCS Midwest series’ best 20 career wins have taken place atop the 4/10-mile I-80 Speedway clay oval.

Both Friday and Saturday action at I-80 Speedway are set to fire off at 7:00 p.m.

Nebraska Raceway Park’s I-80 Speedway is located in Greenwood, NE, between Lincoln and Omaha off I-80 Exit 420, then 0.4 mile north on SR 63 then west. For more information, contact the track at 402-659-3301 or 402-342-3453.

The Speedway Motors ASCS Midwest Region is slated for 21 nights of competition at seven different tracks throughout Nebraska and the surrounding areas of Missouri, South Dakota, Iowa and Minnesota.

Past ASCS Midwest Regional Winners at I-80 Speedway:
7/1/11 – Brian Brown
5/26/11 – Brian Brown
4/9/11 – Brian Brown
4/8/11 – Seth Bergman
9/24/10 – Billy Alley
9/3/10 – Brian Brown
7/2/10 – Brian Brown
5/27/10 – Shane Stewart
4/17/10 – Jack Dover
4/16/10 – Dustin Morgan
7/2/09 – Brian Brown
5/21/09 – Chad Humston
4/11/09 – Jonathan Cornell
4/10/09 – Billy Alley
8/14/07 – Jack Dover
4/15/07 – Chuck Swenson (Midwest vs. Northern Plains)
4/14/07 – Brian Brown (Midwest vs. Northern Plains)
8/15/06 – Billy Alley
7/3/06 – Jake Peters (Midwest vs. Northern Plains)
4/8/06 – Brian Brown (Midwest vs. Northern Plains)
8/3/05 – Brian Brown (Midwest vs. National)
7/8/05 – Brian Brown
4/15/05 – Terry McCarl

The 2011 season marks the 20th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, with approximately 200 nights of competition at tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at