Close this search box.

ASCS Midwest vs. Northern Plains Challenge…

[b ASCS Midwest vs. Northern Plains Challenge Shifts to Crawford County Speedway]

[i Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (July 28, 2009)]

The first American Sprint Car Series champion of 2009 will be determined this weekend, as the sixth and final round of the ASCS Midwest vs. Northern Plains Challenge Series takes place at Crawford County Speedway in Denison, IA, this Friday night.

Also atop the ASCS Midwest point charts, Lincoln, Nebraska’s Jason Danley is in the driver’s seat for the ASCS Northern Plains title as he carries a 19-point advantage over ASCS Northern Plains Iron-Man Eric Lutz into Friday’s card.

Lutz knocked 16 markers off of Danley’s advantage by snaring his third career ASCS Northern Plains win this past Friday at South Dakota’s I-90 Speedway. However, Danley can secure the Northern Plains title by simply finishing ninth or better this Friday night at Crawford County Speedway. Robby Wolfgang, Chad Humston and two-time Northern Plains champ Lee Grosz round out the current top five in Northern Plains points.

Danley holds a healthier advantage in the Midwest championship chase with a 104-point advantage over Humston as four events remain after Friday night’s card. Lutz is third in Midwest points, with Grosz and Mike Boston rounding out the top five.

Friday’s racing action goes green at 7:00 p.m.

The semi-banked, 5/8-mile Crawford County Speedway dirt oval is located in Denison, IA, 0.6 miles north of US 30 on US 59, then 0.6 miles northeast on SR 39. For more information, contact the track at 712-263-2033 or 712-263-5306.

The ASCS Midwest Region is slated for 15 nights of competition at eight tracks throughout Nebraska and the surrounding areas of Missouri and South Dakota. The ASCS Northern Plains Region takes on the Midwest in six of those events.

[b Past ASCS Regional Feature Winners at Crawford County Speedway:]
7/18/08 – Jack Dover (Midwest vs. Northern Plains)
7/20/07 – Brian Brown (Midwest vs. Northern Plains)
6/16/07 – Jason Johnson (National vs. Midwest)
7/21/06 – Wade Nygaard (Midwest vs. Northern Plains)
6/16/06 – Brian Brown (Midwest vs. Northern Plains)

The American Sprint Car Series, in its 18th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing events, brings the best of Sprint Car racing to nearly 100 different tracks throughout 25 states and Canada in 2009. Anchored by the Lucas Oil ASCS Sprint Car Dirt Series presented by K&N Filters, ASCS also consists of a dozen different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at