Close this search box.

ASCS Midwest Tackles High Banks of U.S. 36 Raceway on Saturday

Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (June 14, 2010) – There’s never any shortage action atop the lightning-fast high banks of U.S. 36 Raceway in Cameron, MO.

This Friday night will be no exception, as the American Sprint Car Series Midwest Region makes the first of three stops atop the 3/8-mile U.S. 36 Raceway clay oval.

Lucas Oil ASCS National contender Jack Dover of Springfield, NE, currently holds the ASCS Midwest points lead as well, rebounding from a Friday night flip this past weekend to claim a runner-up finish in Saturday night’s Eagle Nationals finale to maintain the Midwest points lead.

Dover, an ASCS Midwest winner at U.S. 36 en route to his 2008 series title, holds a 62-point edge over Lincoln, Nebraska’s Billy Alley entering Friday’s card, with Eric Lutz (Sioux Falls), Jason Danley (Lincoln, NE) and Doug Lovegrove (Waverly, NE) rounding out the current top five in points.

The balance of the current top ten in ASCS Midwest points includes John Klabunde, Brian Brown, Chad Humston, Ryan Roberts and Tige Jensen.

The ASCS Midwest Regional forces will take on the Winged Outlaw Warriors in Friday night’s U.S. 36 Raceway event.

Friday’s racing action atop the high-banked, 3/8-mile U.S. 36 Raceway clay oval is set to fire off at 8:00 p.m.

U.S. 36 Raceway is located 50 miles northeast of Kansas City on I-35 to Exit 54, then 6.3 miles west on U.S. 36, then 0.1 mile north on SR 33. For more information, contact the track at 816-675-2279.

The ASCS Midwest Region is slated for 23 nights of competition in 2010 at ten different tracks throughout Nebraska and the surrounding areas of Missouri, South Dakota and Iowa.

In its 19th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing, the American Sprint Car Series brings the best of Sprint Car racing to approximately 100 different tracks throughout 30 states and Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

[b Past ASCS Midwest Winners at U.S. 36]
6/19/09 – Jesse Hockett
7/11/08 – Jack Dover
9/7/07 – Jesse Hockett
9/8/06 – Chris Morgan
6/23/06 – Toby Chapman
9/9/05 – Johnny Anderson