Close this search box.

ASCS Midwest Season Finale Friday at I-80!

Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (September 20, 2010) – The American Sprint Car Series Midwest Region puts the wraps on a big 2010 season by taking to Nebraska Raceway Park’s 4/10-mile I-80 Speedway dirt oval this Friday night.

And, when Friday’s final ASCS Midwest checkered flag of 2010 has flown, Eric Lutz of Sioux Falls, SD, will officially enter the record books as this year’s ASCS Midwest champion.

Lutz, a perennial contender for the Northern Plains title with rankings among the top three over each of the past four season, has amassed an insurmountable 325 point lead through the opening 19 events of the season.

Along the way, Lutz picked off his fourth career ASCS Regional triumph with a June 25 win at Hartford, South Dakota’s I-90 Speedway. In five previous ASCS Midwest events at I-80 Speedway this season, a pair of fourth-place runs are the best of three top-tens for Lutz.

Lutz leads the ASCS Midwest points race over Jack Dover, Doug Lovegrove, Brian Brown and Lee Grosz.

Eleven different drivers have posted at least one ASCS Midwest win thus far in 2010, with Missouri’s Brian Brown setting the standard with five wins including a pair at I-80 Speedway. Jason Johnson has three Midwest wins to his credit, Dover and Shane Stewart have two wins, with single triumphs posted by Lutz, Chad Humston, Ryan Roberts, Bronson Maeschen, Jake Peters, Dustin Morgan and Danny Wood.

Dustin Morgan and Dover opened the 2010 ASCS Midwest campaign with April wins at I-80 Speedway and Shane Stewart took a Memorial Day weekend victory at I-80 before Brown topped both the Fourth of July weekend and Labor Day weekend events at I-80.

Friday’s action at I-80 Speedway fires off at 7:00 p.m.

Nebraska Raceway Park’s I-80 Speedway is located in Greenwood, NE, between Lincoln and Omaha off I-80 Exit 420, then 0.4 mile north on SR 63 then west. For more information, contact the track at 402-342-3453 or 402-659-3301.

The ASCS Midwest Region has completed 16 nights of competition in 2010 at seven different tracks throughout Nebraska and the surrounding areas of Missouri, South Dakota and Iowa, with just one night of competition remaining after this weekend’s triple.

In its 19th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing, the American Sprint Car Series brings the best of Sprint Car racing to approximately 100 different tracks throughout 30 states and Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Past ASCS Regional Winners at I-80 Speedway:
9/3/10 – Brian Brown (Midwest)
7/2/10 – Brian Brown (Midwest)
5/27/10 – Shane Stewart (Midwest)
4/17/10 – Jack Dover (Midwest)
4/16/10 – Dustin Morgan (Midwest)
7/2/09 – Brian Brown (Midwest)
5/21/09 – Chad Humston (Midwest)
4/11/09 – Jonathan Cornell (Midwest)
4/10/09 – Billy Alley (Midwest)
8/14/07 – Jack Dover (Midwest)
4/15/07 – Chuck Swenson (Midwest vs. Northern Plains)
4/14/07 – Brian Brown (Midwest vs. Northern Plains)
8/15/06 – Billy Alley (Midwest)
7/3/06 – Jake Peters (Midwest vs. Northern Plains)
4/8/06 – Brian Brown (Midwest vs. Northern Plains)
8/3/05 – Brian Brown (Midwest vs. National)
7/8/05 – Brian Brown (Midwest)
4/15/05 – Terry McCarl (Midwest)

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at