Close this search box.

ASCS Midwest Headlines Eagle’s Icebreaker!

Cody Morris, Tulsa, Oklahoma (4-16-2012) – The Speedway Motors ASCS Midwest Region forces prepare for a wild weekend of action this Friday, April 20th and Saturday April 21st at Eagle Raceway.

Eagle, Nebraska’s famed 1/3 mile oval will kick off their 2012 calendar with the annual “Icebreaker Challenge” a raucous weekend opener headlined by the Speedway Motors ASCS Midwest Region.

Founded in 1963, “America’s Home Track” will host five Speedway Motors ASCS Midwest events this season, with a weekend double of National vs. Midwest action in June before the Speedway Motors ASCS Midwest season finale in September.

The 2012 ASCS Midwest campaign commenced two weeks ago with a season opening weekend double at Greenwood, Nebraska’s I-80 Speedway. The weekend was split with South Dakota’s Robbie Wolfgang snaring his 1st career ASCS victory, before all-time ASCS Midwest winner “Blackjack” Brian Brown added to his Midwest success in the weekend finale.

This upcoming ASCS Midwest double at Eagle Raceway features the 3rd and 4th rounds of 18 ASCS Midwest events in the 2012 campaign.

Defending NASCAR Sprint Cup champion and two-time Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Midget Nationals winner Tony Stewart has expressed his intent to do battle with ASCS Midwest forces this weekend at Eagle if his pavement obligations allow.

Eighteen years after his first Eagle Raceway victory in 1994’s USAC Summer Midget Classic, “Smoke” will have some obstructions in his potential quest to re-conquer “America’s Fastest 1/3 Mile”.

As of Monday, over 30 teams have pre-entered for ASCS Midwest action at the Icebreaker Challenge with Springfield, Nebraska’s two-time and defending ASCS Midwest Champion Jack Dover among them. This number will almost certainly rise as Friday’s weekend kickoff nears.

Featured Photo Credit: Lynn Thurman

Friday gates open at 6pm, with racing set for an 8pm start. Saturday gates open at 5pm, with action beginning at 630pm. For more Eagle Raceway information, including ticket pricing and directions, please visit

Past ASCS Midwest Region winner at Eagle Raceway:
9/16/11 – Jason Johnson
9/11/11 – Jason Johnson
6/11/11 – Jack Dover (with National)
9/12/10 – Jason Johnson
6/12/10 – Jason Johnson (with National)
6/11/10 – Danny Wood (with National)
9/12/09 – Tony Bruce, Jr.
9/7/08 – Jack Dover
7/19/08 – Jack Dover
7/21/07 – Mike Boston
7/22/06 – Wade Nygaard

The 2012 season marks the 21st year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by MavTV, ASCS also consists of eleven different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at