Close this search box.

ASCS Midwest Double Dip this Week!

Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (July 20, 2010) – With Sioux Falls, South Dakota’s Eric Lutz newly perched atop the American Sprint Car Series Midwest point charts, the series is set for another pair of events this week.

The seventh consecutive week of racing action for the ASCS Midwest Region includes a $2,000-to-win Wednesday night stop at Denison, Iowa’s Crawford County Speedway and then a Friday night outing atop Hartford, South Dakota’s I-90 Speedway.

Wednesday’s card at the Crawford County Fair marks the series only 2010 stop in Denison, with Friday’s event in South Dakota the final ASCS Midwest stop of the season at I-90.

Lutz, who has topped the two most recent stand-along ASCS Midwest Regional events at I-90 Speedway including one on June 25, took over the top spot in the ASCS Midwest title chase this past weekend.

Lutz holds the first position ahead of Springfield, Nebraska’s Jack Dover, with Nebraska racers Doug Lovegrove (Waverly), Jason Danley (Lincoln) and Tyler Drueke (Eagle) rounding out the current top five in points.

Iowa’s Bronson Maeschen, who topped last Friday night’s ASCS Midwest card at Cameron, MO, was victorious in last year’s ASCS Midwest event at Crawford County Speedway.

Both nights of racing action are set to go green at 7:30 p.m.

The semi-banked, 5/8-mile Crawford County Speedway dirt oval is located in Denison, IA, 0.6 miles north of US 30 on US 59, then 0.6 miles northeast on SR 39. For more information, contact the track at 712-263-5306 or 712-677-9912.

I-90 Speedway is located three miles west of Hartford, SD, on SR 38. For more information, contact the track at 605-528-6380.

The ASCS Midwest Region is slated for 23 nights of competition in 2010 at ten different tracks throughout Nebraska and the surrounding areas of Missouri, South Dakota and Iowa.

In its 19th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing, the American Sprint Car Series brings the best of Sprint Car racing to approximately 100 different tracks throughout 30 states and Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Past ASCS Regional Feature Winners at Crawford County Speedway:
7/31/09 – Bronson Maeschen
7/18/08 – Jack Dover
7/20/07 – Brian Brown

Past ASCS Regional Winners at I-90 Speedway:

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at