Close this search box.

ASCS Midwest campaign debuts this weekend at I-80!!

Cody Morris, TULSA, OKLAHOMA (4-1-2012) – The 2012 Speedway Motors ASCS Midwest Region commences with a familiar weekend double at Greenwood, Nebraska’s I-80 Speedway.

The weekend pair atop the 4/10 mile oval will mark the 1st and 2nd rounds of a 2012 slate of events that features 18 events spread across Nebraska, Missouri, Iowa, and South Dakota.

Three years after attaining his first Midwest crown in 2008, Springfield, Nebraska’s Jack Dover dominated the 2011 campaign to earn his 2nd ASCS Midwest Region Championship. The reigning champion is expected to lead a host of contenders into the Speedway Motors ASCS Midwest Region debut.

Both events will feature a complete show, with $2,500 to the winner and $250 to all main event starters.

Racing begins Friday night at 7pm, followed by a rather peculiar 5:55pm start time in Saturday’s weekend finale.

Nebraska Raceway Park’s I-80 Speedway is located in Greenwood, NE, between Lincoln and Omaha off I-80 Exit 420, then 0.4 mile north on SR 63 then west. For more information, contact the track at 402-659-3301 or 402-342-3453.

Photo Credit: Jim Rosas

Past ASCS Midwest Regional Winners at I-80 Speedway:
9/16/11 – Jason Johnson
7/1/11 – Brian Brown
5/26/11 – Brian Brown
4/9/11 – Brian Brown
4/8/11 – Seth Bergman
9/24/10 – Billy Alley
9/3/10 – Brian Brown
7/2/10 – Brian Brown
5/27/10 – Shane Stewart
4/17/10 – Jack Dover
4/16/10 – Dustin Morgan
7/2/09 – Brian Brown
5/21/09 – Chad Humston
4/11/09 – Jonathan Cornell
4/10/09 – Billy Alley
8/14/07 – Jack Dover
4/15/07 – Chuck Swenson (Midwest vs. Northern Plains)
4/14/07 – Brian Brown (Midwest vs. Northern Plains)
8/15/06 – Billy Alley
7/3/06 – Jake Peters (Midwest vs. Northern Plains)
4/8/06 – Brian Brown (Midwest vs. Northern Plains)
8/3/05 – Brian Brown (Midwest vs. National)
7/8/05 – Brian Brown
4/15/05 – Terry McCarl

The 2012 season marks the 21st year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at

Photo Credit: Jim Rosas