Close this search box.

ASCS Lone Star Takes to Pair of Kennedale Ovals

[b ASCS Lone Star Takes to Pair of Kennedale Ovals]

[i Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (August 25, 2009)]

There’s not another layout like it. No other site has two different dirt tracks separated by little more than a parking lot.

Sprint Car fans will have the opportunity to check out this unique configuration this weekend near Fort Worth, TX, as the American Sprint Car Series Lone Star Region takes to the pair of Kennedale ¼-mile clay ovals.

On Friday night, the series invades Kennedale Speedway Park. Then, on Saturday night, it’s a couple of hundred yards across the parking lot to the high banks of Cowtown Speedway.

Kevin Ramey, who was topped both Lone Star events at Cowtown this year, leads the way into the weekend with an 86-point advantage in the chase for the inaugural ASCS Lone Star championship. The Fort Worth shoe is trying to add Lone Star accolades to a pair of previous Sooner Region crowns.

Ramey’s closest chaser is Brad Welborn, an ASCS winner at Cowtown last year. Welborn is 48 markers ahead of Flower Mound’s Justin Melton, with fellow Flower Mound shoe Matt Clevenger and Godley’s Claud Estes rounding out the current top five.

The balance of the current top ten in Lone Star points includes Mesquite’s Michael Lang, Keller’s Eric Baldaccini, Graham’s Kolt Walker, Kemp’s Scott Reneau and Burleson’s John Ricketts.

While Ramey has topped both previous Lone Star events at Cowtown this season, Baldaccini took top honors in the series’ lone previous stop at Kennedale Speedway Park.

This weekend’s Kennedale Speedway Park-Cowtown double marks the first of three consecutive weekends of Lone Star competition, with challenge events versus the ASCS Gulf South Region at Crandall’s RPM Speedway and Mesquite’s Devil’s Bowl Speedway on Labor Day weekend (September 4-5) followed up by a September 12 stop at Kilgore’s Lone Star Speedway.

Both nights of racing action are slated to get under way at 7:00 p.m.

The pair of Kennedale, TX, tracks are located just east of Fort Worth off I-20 Exit 442-A, then 1.7 miles southeast on Mansfield Highway, then 1.4 miles southwest on New Hope Road.

The semi-banked, ¼-mile Kennedale Speedway Park dirt oval may be reached at 817-478-7223 or 817-229-0287, while the high-banked, ¼-mile Cowtown Speedway dirt oval can be contacted at 817-478-9952.

The inaugural slate of ASCS Lone Star Region competition consists of 18 events at nine different tracks throughout North Texas in addition to one venture north of the Red River to Oklahoma City’s State Fair Speedway.

Past ASCS Regional Feature Winners at Kennedale Speedway Park:
7/11/09 – Eric Baldaccini
7/25/08 – Joe Wood, Jr.
6/27/08 – Joe Wood, Jr.

Past ASCS Regional Feature Winners at Cowtown Speedway:
6/27/09 – Kevin Ramey (Lone Star)
4/4/09 – Kevin Ramey (Lone Star)
10/11/08 – Brian Brown (National vs. Sooner)
10/10/08 – Gavin Punch (National vs. Sooner)
8/23/08 – Kolt Walker (Gulf South)
7/26/08 – Brad Welborn (Sooner)
5/17/08 – Gary Taylor (Sooner)
4/5/08 – Travis Rilat (Sooner)
9/15/07 – Nick Smith (Sooner)
7/7/07 – Brian McClelland (Sooner)
4/14/07 – Kevin Ramey (Sooner)
9/23/06 – Travis Rilat (Sooner)
6/10/06 – Sam Hafertepe, Jr. (Sooner)
4/8/06 – Sam Hafertepe, Jr. (Sooner)
9/24/05 – Travis Rilat (Sooner)
6/25/05 – Jason Martin (National vs. Sooner)
4/9/05 – Sean McClelland (Sooner)
9/25/04 – Andy Shouse (Sooner)
5/29/04 – Kevin Ramey (Sooner)

The American Sprint Car Series, in its 18th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing events, brings the best of Sprint Car racing to nearly 100 different tracks throughout 25 states and Canada in 2009. Anchored by the Lucas Oil ASCS Sprint Car Dirt Series presented by K&N Filters, ASCS also consists of a dozen different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at