Close this search box.

ASCS Lone Star Set for RPM-Abilene Weekend Double!

Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (May 10, 2010) – The chase for the American Sprint Car Series Lone Star title continues this coming weekend with a pair of events in the Lone Star State.

On Friday night, the series invades Crandall’s RPM Speedway for the first of three scheduled events in 2010. Then, on Saturday night, it’s a couple of hours to the west for the lone ASCS Lone Star stop of the season at Abilene Speedway.

With the opening pair of ASCS Lone Star events of the season in the books, reigning champion Kevin Ramey of Fort Worth, TX, is out to the early points lead with a 25-point advantage over Lubbock’s Preston Peebles II.

Alvin, TX, shoe Bean Elliott is ranked third in points, with Mesquite’s Justin Spoerl and Kermit native Kolt Walker (now calling Graham, TX, home) rounding out the current top five in points.

The balance of the current top ten in Lone Star points includes Claud Estes (Godley), Justin Melton (Flower Mound), Brandon Corn (Gause), Eric Baldaccini (Keller) and John Ricketts (Burleson).

Ramey raced to victory lane in both ASCS Regional events atop the ¼-mile RPM Speedway last year, while Jerry Bell topped the inaugural ASCS event atop the ¼-mile Abilene Speedway.

Friday’s racing action at Crandall’s RPM Speedway goes green at 8:00 p.m., with Saturday’s card at Abilene Speedway firing off at 7:30 p.m.

The semi-banked, ¼-mile RPM Speedway dirt oval is located southeast of Crandall, TX, on US 175 to CR 4106 (Bud Story Road exit) to the intersection of CR 4104. For more information, contact the track at 972-427-6822.

The semi-banked, ¼-mile Abilene Speedway clay oval is located in Abilene, TX, off westbound I-20 Exit 278, then south over I-20, then back east on I-20 to Exit 279, then 1.1 mile east on Business I-20. For more information, contact the track at 325-692-8800 or 325-725-3849.

The 2010 slate of ASCS Lone Star Region competition consists of 17 nights of action at seven different tracks throughout North Texas and one to the north of the Red River in southwest Oklahoma.

In its 19th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing, the American Sprint Car Series brings the best of Sprint Car racing to approximately 100 different tracks throughout 30 states and Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters, ASCS also consists of eleven different Regions throughout the nation.

Past ASCS Regional Feature Winners at RPM Speedway:
9/4/09 – Kevin Ramey (Gulf South vs. Lone Star)
7/10/09 – Kevin Ramey (Lone Star)

Past ASCS Regional Feature Winners at Abilene Speedway:
5/30/09 – Jerry Bell

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at