Close this search box.

ASCS Lone Star Season opens Saturday at Kilgore!

Cody Morris, TULSA, OKLAHOMA (4-1-2012) – The Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star Region kicks off the 2012 season with a Saturday night outing at Lone Star Speedway in Kilgore, Texas.

The fourth season for the 2012 Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star Region forces currently features 14 night’s of competition, with Saturday’s $3,000 to win/$250 to start season opener serving as the sole Lone Star Region visit to the 3/8 mile speedway of the same name.

Saturday night’s 2012 season opener features only the 3rd ASCS regional visit since the track was reconfigured from its’ former ultra fast, high banked half-mile to its’ current 3/8 mile shape. National Sprint Car Hall of Famer Gary Wright took the first Lone Star regional nod to jumpstart the 2011 season, with Michael Lang taking winning honors in the 2nd and final Lone Star appearance of 2011.

The southward ventures and effort of Glenpool, Oklahoma’s Matt Covington paid dividends with a 2011 ASCS Lone Star Region Championship, and the reigning champion will be one of several Sooner State shoes looking to renew the perennial battle against a slew of Red River rivals looking to bring the Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star Region title back to the home state.

Lone Star Speedway grandstands open at 5pm with hot laps at 7pm and racing to begin shortly following.

Lone Star Speedway is located in Kilgore, TX, off I-20 Exit 583, then 0.5 mile north on SR 135, then one mile east on FM 1252, then 0.5 mile south. For more information, contact the track at 903-986-9731 or visit

Past ASCS Regional Feature Winners at Lone Star Speedway:
6/11/11 – Michael Lang (Lone Star)
3/12/11 – Gary Wright (Lone Star)
9/11/10 – Kolt Walker (Lone Star)
4/9/10 – Matt Covington (Lone Star with National)
5/24/09 – Brandon Berryman (Gulf South)

The 2012 season marks the 21st year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.
Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at