Close this search box.

ASCS Lone Star Region Tackles Lone Star High Banks on Saturday!

Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (September 7, 2010) – Twelve different winners in twelve races is the story thus far in 2010 for the American Sprint Car Series Lone Star Region.

Which begs the question; will one of those 12 become the first repeat ASCS Lone Star winner of 2010 when the series takes to the ultra-fast high banks of Kilgore’s Lone Star Speedway on Saturday night? Or, will somebody else throw their hat into the mix to become winner number 13 in the series 13th event of the year, Lone Star Speedway’s Patriot Day Tribute.

With the season winding down, 22-year-old Eric Baldaccini of Keller, TX, nearly has his first series championship in grasp. A June 11 winner at Boyd Raceway, Baldaccini has posted five top-fives and nine top-tens to open up a 90-point lead over Claud Estes in the title chase.

While Godley’s Estes enters Saturday’s action ranked second, Flower Mound’s Justin Melton, Lubbock’s Preston Peebles II and Mesquite’s Martin Edwards round out the current top five in ASCS Lone Star points.

The balance of the current top ten includes John Ricketts (Burleson), Brandon Corn (Gause), Brian McClelland (Tulsa, OK), Kolt Walker (Graham) and Scott Reneau (Trinidad).

While Baldaccini posted his series win in June, Estes and Melton both earned Lone Star Region wins in Shootout action versus the Sooner Region in July. Other ASCS Lone Star winners thus far in 2010 include Kolt Walker, Brian McClelland, Ray Allen Kulhanek, Sean McClelland, Kenneth Walker, Jason Johnson, Gary Wright, Wayne Johnson and Matt Covington, who topped the series season opener at Lone Star Speedway in conjunction with the Lucas Oil ASCS National series.

Saturday’s racing action is set to go green at 7:30 p.m.

The high-banked, ½-mile Lone Star Speedway is located in Kilgore, TX, off I-20 Exit 583, then 0.5 mile north on SR 135, then one mile east on FM 1252, then 0.5 mile south. For more information, contact the track at 903-986-9731.

The ASCS Lone Star Region has completed a dozen nights of competition thus far in 2010 at eight different tracks.

Past ASCS Regional Feature Winners at Lone Star Speedway:
4/9/10 – Matt Covington (Lone Star with National)
5/24/09 – Brandon Berryman (Gulf South)

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at