Close this search box.

ASCS Lone Star Double this Weekend!

Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (May 16, 2011) – A double dip is in store for The Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star Region as the series takes to a pair of ¼-mile bullrings this coming weekend in Boyd, TX, and Texarkana, AR.

On Friday night, the ASCS Lone Star Region makes its annual outing at Boyd Raceway. Then, on Saturday night, the series slips just past the Texas/Arkansas state line to Texarkana 67 Speedway for the only time in 2011.

With the initial three events of the season in the books, Glenpool, Oklahoma’s Matt Covington is out to the early The Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star points lead with a 45-point advantage over Godley, TX, shoe Claud Estes. Covington comes off a Sooner win this past weekend in his first drive aboard the Marshala Oilfield Equipment & Manufacturing No. 11 team.

Reigning Lone Star champion Eric Baldaccini enters the weekend ranked third, with Martin Edwards and Justin Melton rounding out the current top five. The balance of the current top ten includes Junior Jenkins, John Ricketts, Evan Pardo, Michael Lang and the duo of Robert Byrom and Chad Wilson who are tied for tenth.

Boyd Raceway could be just the tonic Baldaccini is looking for, as he has topped the Lone Star event at Boyd over each of the past two seasons. A winner of four career ASCS Regional features, Baldaccini’s last score came at Boyd last June.

Just down the road from Gary Wright’s Hooks, TX, home, “The Texan” reached Texarkana 67 Speedway victory lane last year for the first time since 2002.

Friday’s racing action at Boyd Raceway is set to go green at 8:00 p.m., with Saturday’s tilt at Texarkana 67 Speedway firing off at 7:30 p.m.

The semi-banked, ¼-mile Boyd Raceway dirt oval is located in Boyd, TX, 2.5 miles south of SR 114 on FM 730, then 1.5 miles west on FM 2048. For more information, contact the track at 940-433-5587.

The semi-banked, ¼-mile Texarkana 67 Speedway clay oval is located east of Texarkana on I-30 to Exit 7, then 0.5 miles southeast on State Road 108, then 2.6 miles northeast on U.S. 67. For more information, contact the track at 903-824-0821 or 870-773-0029.

The Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star Region is currently slated for 15 nights of competition at eight different tracks throughout Texas and into Arkansas and Oklahoma in 2011.

Past ASCS Regional Feature Winners at Boyd Raceway:
6/11/10 – Eric Baldaccini (Lone Star)
6/26/09 – Eric Baldaccini (Lone Star)
5/16/08 – Brian McClelland (Sooner)

Past ASCS Feature Winners at Texarkana 67 Speedway:
5/21/10 – Gary Wright (Lone Star)
6/5/09 – Tim Crawley (Speedweek)
7/11/08 – Gary Taylor (Speedweek)
4/27/07 – Jason Johnson (National)
5/12/06 – Jason Johnson (Gulf South vs. Mid-South)
6/10/05 – Tim Crawley (Speedweek)
4/30/04 – Tim Crawley (National)
5/2/03 – Shane Stewart (National)
4/12/02 – Gary Wright (National)
5/19/01 – Gary Wright (National)
7/22/00 – Gary Wright (Speedweek)

The 2011 season marks the 20th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, with approximately 200 nights of competition at tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at