Close this search box.

ASCS Gulf South Set for Weekend Double

Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (April 19, 2010) – It will be relatively new territory for the American Sprint Car Series Gulf South Region this weekend as the series sets up for its third scheduled weekend double of 2010.

On Friday night, the series takes to Battleground Speedway in Highlands, TX. Then, on Saturday night, the ASCS Gulf South forces move on to Speedarama Raceway in Lufkin, TX.

Friday’s card at Battleground marks just the second series stop in Highlands after the return of Sprint Car racing to the high-banked, 3/8-mile clay oval for the first time in nearly a decade on March 6.

Saturday’s event at Lufkin’s Speedarama is the series debut atop the semi-banked, 1/3-mile clay oval.

With three ASCS Gulf South events in the books thus far, this will mark the first Gulf South weekend of action without Lucas Oil National invaders among the mix.

While Brian Brown sits atop the official Gulf South point charts, the top-ranked likely Gulf South title contenders are Tommy Bryant and Aaron Reutzel, who are tied for seventh. Reutzel is the defending ASCS Gulf South champion, while Bryant ranked third last year.

Other top ASCS Gulf South contenders entering the weekend include two-time series champion Brandon Berryman, Wes Miller, Scottie McDonald, Travis Knighton, Ray Allen Kulhanek, Chris Sweeney, Klint Angelette and Greg Rilat.

Friday’s racing action at Battleground Speedway goes green at 7:00 p.m., while Saturday’s card at Speedarama Raceway fires off at 7:30 p.m.

Highlands’ Battleground Speedway is located east of Houston off I-10 exit 787, then four miles north. For more information, contact the track at 832-421-7223.

Speedarama Raceway is located east of Lufkin, TX, on SR 103, just one mile east of Loop 287. For more information, contact the track at 936-328-7571.

The ASCS Gulf South Region is set for 27 nights of racing action at ten different tracks throughout Texas in 2010.

In its 19th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing, the American Sprint Car Series brings the best of Sprint Car racing to approximately 100 different tracks throughout 30 states and Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters, ASCS also consists of eleven different Regions throughout the nation.

Past ASCS Gulf South Region Feature Winners at Battleground Speedway:
3/6/10 – Brian Brown

Past ASCS Gulf South Region Feature Winners at Speedarama Raceway:
None – First ASCS Gulf South event at Speedarama.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at