Close this search box.

ASCS Gulf South Set for One Last GTRP-HRP Double

[b ASCS Gulf South Set for One Last GTRP-HRP Double]

[i Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (September 15, 2009)]

Golden Triangle Raceway Park and Houston Raceway Park are both staples on the ASCS Gulf South Regional tour. This weekend, the Beaumont and Baytown clay ovals in southeast Texas are both set to host the series for the final time in 2009.

The series takes to Beaumont’s Golden Triangle Raceway Park on Friday night for a $2,000-to-win tilt, before moving on to Baytown’s Houston Raceway Park on Saturday night for a $3,000-to-win affair.

Leading the way into the weekend is 19-year-old Clute, TX, shoe Aaron Reutzel, who has posted 17 top-ten feature runs in 20 events aboard the Motor Mike-powered No. 87 Triple-X to amass a 62-point advantage over Conroe’s Tommy Bryant.

Reutzel, who picked off his first career series win in the last stop at Beaumont on July 17, has just three race nights after this weekend’s double separating him from the 2009 series title.

Poised to pounce on any Reutzel miscues is Bryant, who has collected three Gulf South wins this season including a May 16 triumph at Golden Triangle Raceway Park.

Eighteen-year-old Channin Tankersely of Highlands, TX, is 150 points off the lead pace in third, with New Caney’s Scottie McDonald and Willis’ Kent Lewis, Jr., rounding out the current top five.

Sixth through ninth in ASCS Gulf South points are two-time champion Brandon Berryman (Missouri City), series Iron Man Greg Rilat (Texas City) and past champions Ray Allen Kulhanek (Magnolia) and Gary Watson (Beaumont), with Jimmy Brooks (College Station) in tenth.

Friday’s card at Golden Triangle Raceway Park marks the series seventh scheduled stop of the season in Beaumont. Gary Wright has a pair of GTRP wins this year, with single triumphs posted by Bryant, Reutzel and Travis Rilat, with Mother Nature getting the nod in August.

Saturday marks the fourth Gulf South stop of the year at Houston Raceway Park, with Eric Baldaccini, Kulhanek and Kevin Ramey each scoring atop the Baytown clay.

Friday’s card at Golden Triangle Raceway Park is slated to get under way at 7:45 p.m., with Saturday’s action at Houston Raceway Park set to go green at 7:00 p.m.

Golden Triangle Raceway Park is located 9.5 miles west of I-10 on US 90 near Beaumont, TX. For more information, contact the track at 409-752-7200.

Houston Raceway Park is located east of Houston on I-10 to Exit 798, then three miles south on State Road 146, then 0.8 miles southeast on FM 1405, then 1.5 miles northeast on FM 565. For more information, contact the track at 281-383-7223.

The ASCS Gulf South Region is set for 27 nights of racing action at eleven different tracks throughout Texas in 2009.

The American Sprint Car Series, in its 18th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing events, brings the best of Sprint Car racing to nearly 100 different tracks throughout 25 states and Canada in 2009. Anchored by the Lucas Oil ASCS Sprint Car Dirt Series presented by K&N Filters, ASCS also consists of a dozen different Regions throughout the nation.

Past ASCS Gulf South Region Feature Winners at Golden Triangle Raceway Park:
7/17/09 – Aaron Reutzel
6/19/09 – Travis Rilat
5/16/09 – Gary Wright
5/16/09 – Tommy Bryant (4/24 Makeup Feature)
3/6/09 – Gary Wright
8/15/08 – Channin Tankersley
7/18/08 – Gary Watson
5/9/08 – Channin Tankersley
2/29/08 – Jason Johnson
9/28/07 – Jason Johnson
6/22/07 – Michael Dupuy
5/18/07 – Brandon Berryman
4/6/07 – Jason Johnson
9/29/06 – Kevin Ramey
8/18/06 – Jason Johnson
6/23/06 – Gary Watson
8/19/05 – Ray Allen Kulhanek
6/17/05 – Ray Allen Kulhanek
4/15/05 – Travis Rilat
9/18/04 – Kelly Angelette
7/9/04 – Stephen Chevallier

Past ASCS Gulf South Region Feature Winners at Houston Raceway Park:
7/18/09 – Kevin Ramey
6/20/09 – Ray Allen Kulhanek
5/16/09 – Eric Baldaccini
9/27/08 – Jason Johnson
6/21/08 – Michael Dupuy
5/10/08 – Brandon Berryman
3/1/08 – Jack Dover
9/29/07 – Brandon Berryman
8/18/07 – Travis Rilat
5/19/07 – Johnny Miller
9/30/06 – Ray Allen Kulhanek
8/19/06 – Brad Best
6/24/06 – Ray Allen Kulhanek
4/8/06 – Travis Rilat
8/20/05 – Lane Whittington
6/18/05 – Ray Allen Kulhanek
7/10/04 – Kevin Ramey

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at