Close this search box.

ASCS Gulf South Set for July Fourth Weekend of Speed!

Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (June 28, 2010) – The American Sprint Car Series Gulf South Region is set for its second three-day racing weekend of the season with a Fourth of July Weekend of Speed triple header along Texas’ Gulf Coast.

And there is some extra money up for grabs for the events slated for Edna, Beaumont and Cleveland.

While each night offers up a $2,000 winner’s share, a $500 bonus is in place for any driver that can win of three events with a $1,000 bonus available for the driver that can win all three feature events, making it possible for one driver to collect $7,000 over the course of the weekend.

The bonus money is made available by Griffith Truck & Equipment, Smith/Petty Trophies, Night Moves Racing and Mississippi Bob.

The Fourth of July Weekend of Speed kicks off Friday night at Texana Raceway Park in Edna, TX, moves on to Beaumont’s Golden Triangle Raceway Park on Saturday night and then concludes at 105 Motor Speedway in Cleveland, TX, on Sunday night.

While the Golden Triangle Raceway Park is a familiar Gulf South stop with three events already completed this year, Texana Raceway Park and 105 Motor Speedway both host the series for the first time this year.

Tommy Bryant and George White split last year’s Fourth of July weekend wins at Texana Raceway Park, Bryant, Chris Morgan and Gary Wright have topped Gulf South features at Golden Triangle this year and Jason Johnson, current Gulf South points leader Ray Allen Kulhanek and Wright took wins at 105 Motor Speedway last year.

Still looking for his first series win of the year, 2005 ASCS Gulf South champ Ray Allen Kulhanek of Montgomery, TX, carries a 58-point lead into the weekend on the strength of seven consecutive top-ten feature runs.

Conroe’s Tommy Bryant has climbed to second in points with two wins in the last three events, with two-time series champ Brandon Berryman (Missouri City), defending champion Aaron Reutzel (Clute) and Scottie McDonald (New Caney) rounding out the current top five.

The balance of the current top ten in ASCS Gulf South points includes Travis Elliott (Alvin), Chris Sweeney (Channelview), Wes Miller (Santa Fe), Greg Rilat (Texas City) and 17-year-old Logan Bledsoe (Richmond).

This weekend marks the series second triple header of the weekend, as Chris Morgan, Kent Lewis, Jr., and Bryant each posted wins over Memorial Day weekend.

Friday’s racing action at Texana Raceway Park fires off at 7:45 p.m., Saturday’s card at Golden Triangle Raceway Park goes green at 8:00 p.m., with Sunday’s event getting under way at 7:00 p.m.

The high-banked, 5/16-mile Texana Raceway Park dirt oval is located two miles east of Edna, TX, on SR 111, then left on Haines Road. For more information, contact the track at 361-781-0411.

Golden Triangle Raceway Park is located 9.5 miles west of I-10 on US 90 near Beaumont, TX. For more information, contact the track at 409-752-7200.

Cleveland, Texas’ ¼-mile, semi-banked 105 Motor Speedway clay oval is located six miles west of US 59 on SR 105, then 0.3 miles north on Fostoria. For more information, contact the track at 281-592-7223.

The ASCS Gulf South Region is slated for 27 nights of racing action at ten different tracks throughout Texas in 2010.

In its 19th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing, the American Sprint Car Series brings the best of Sprint Car racing to approximately 100 different tracks throughout 30 states and Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Past ASCS Gulf South Region Feature Winners at Texana Raceway Park:
7/4/09 – Tommy Bryant
7/3/09 – George White
8/30/08 – Jason Johnson

Past ASCS Gulf South Region Feature Winners at Golden Triangle Raceway Park:
6/18/10 – Tommy Bryant
5/28/10 – Chris Morgan
3/5/10 – Gary Wright
10/2/09 – Channin Tankersley
9/18/09 – Jason Johnson
7/17/09 – Aaron Reutzel
6/19/09 – Travis Rilat
5/16/09 – Gary Wright
5/16/09 – Tommy Bryant (4/24 Makeup Feature)
3/6/09 – Gary Wright
8/15/08 – Channin Tankersley
7/18/08 – Gary Watson
5/9/08 – Channin Tankersley
2/29/08 – Jason Johnson
9/28/07 – Jason Johnson
6/22/07 – Michael Dupuy
5/18/07 – Brandon Berryman
4/6/07 – Jason Johnson
9/29/06 – Kevin Ramey
8/18/06 – Jason Johnson
6/23/06 – Gary Watson
8/19/05 – Ray Allen Kulhanek
6/17/05 – Ray Allen Kulhanek
4/15/05 – Travis Rilat
9/18/04 – Kelly Angelette
7/9/04 – Stephen Chevallier

Past ASCS Gulf South Region Feature Winners at 105 Speedway:
8/29/09 – Jason Johnson
6/6/09 – Ray Allen Kulhanek
3/7/09 – Gary Wright
7/5/08 – Bryn Gohn
6/7/08 – Brandon Berryman
4/5/08 – Jason Johnson
9/2/07 – Jason Johnson
7/28/07 – Scottie McDonald

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at