Close this search box.

ASCS Gulf South Set for GTRP-HRP Double

Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (July 12, 2010) – Following a complete washout of all three events scheduled for the recent Fourth of July weekend, an antsy group of American Sprint Car Series Gulf South Region competitors fire back into action with a pair of events this weekend.

The series embarks upon the third of four scheduled Golden Triangle Raceway Park-Houston Raceway Park doubles of the season, with $2,000 to win Friday’s GTRP card in Beaumont, TX, and then $3,000 to win for Saturday’s event at Baytown’s HRP.

Still looking for his first series win of the year, 2005 ASCS Gulf South champ Ray Allen Kulhanek of Montgomery, TX, carries a 58-point lead into the weekend on the strength of seven consecutive top-ten feature runs.

Conroe’s Tommy Bryant has climbed to second in points with two wins in the last three events, with two-time series champ Brandon Berryman (Missouri City), defending champion Aaron Reutzel (Clute) and Scottie McDonald (New Caney) rounding out the current top five.

The balance of the current top ten in ASCS Gulf South points includes Travis Elliott (Alvin), Chris Sweeney (Channelview), Wes Miller (Santa Fe), Greg Rilat (Texas City) and 17-year-old Logan Bledsoe (Richmond).

Bryant topped the most recent event at Golden Triangle Raceway Park after Gary Wright and Chris Morgan claimed earlier GTRP wins.

A new 2010 winner at Houston Raceway Park is assured on Saturday night, as Jason Johnson, who has topped both previous events, will be in Lucas Oil ASCS National action in Washington.

Friday’s racing action at Golden Triangle Raceway Park goes green at 8:00 p.m., while Saturday’s card at Houston Raceway Park fires off at 7:00 p.m.

Golden Triangle Raceway Park is located 9.5 miles west of I-10 on US 90 near Beaumont, TX. For more information, contact the track at 409-752-7200.

Houston Raceway Park is located east of Houston on I-10 to Exit 798, then three miles south on State Road 146, then 0.8 miles southeast on FM 1405, then 1.5 miles northeast on FM 565. For more information, contact the track at 281-383-7223.

The ASCS Gulf South Region is slated for 27 nights of racing action at ten different tracks throughout Texas in 2010.

In its 19th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing, the American Sprint Car Series brings the best of Sprint Car racing to approximately 100 different tracks throughout 30 states and Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

[b Past ASCS Gulf South Region Feature Winners at Golden Triangle Raceway Park:]
6/18/10 – Tommy Bryant
5/28/10 – Chris Morgan
3/5/10 – Gary Wright
10/2/09 – Channin Tankersley
9/18/09 – Jason Johnson
7/17/09 – Aaron Reutzel
6/19/09 – Travis Rilat
5/16/09 – Gary Wright
5/16/09 – Tommy Bryant (4/24 Makeup Feature)
3/6/09 – Gary Wright
8/15/08 – Channin Tankersley
7/18/08 – Gary Watson
5/9/08 – Channin Tankersley
2/29/08 – Jason Johnson
9/28/07 – Jason Johnson
6/22/07 – Michael Dupuy
5/18/07 – Brandon Berryman
4/6/07 – Jason Johnson
9/29/06 – Kevin Ramey
8/18/06 – Jason Johnson
6/23/06 – Gary Watson
8/19/05 – Ray Allen Kulhanek
6/17/05 – Ray Allen Kulhanek
4/15/05 – Travis Rilat
9/18/04 – Kelly Angelette
7/9/04 – Stephen Chevallier

[b Past ASCS Gulf South Region Feature Winners at Houston Raceway Park:]
6/19/10 – Jason Johnson
4/3/10 – Jason Johnson
9/19/09 – Gary Wright
7/18/09 – Kevin Ramey
6/20/09 – Ray Allen Kulhanek
5/16/09 – Eric Baldaccini
9/27/08 – Jason Johnson
6/21/08 – Michael Dupuy
5/10/08 – Brandon Berryman
3/1/08 – Jack Dover
9/29/07 – Brandon Berryman
8/18/07 – Travis Rilat
5/19/07 – Johnny Miller
9/30/06 – Ray Allen Kulhanek
8/19/06 – Brad Best
6/24/06 – Ray Allen Kulhanek
4/8/06 – Travis Rilat
8/20/05 – Lane Whittington
6/18/05 – Ray Allen Kulhanek
7/10/04 – Kevin Ramey

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at