Close this search box.

ASCS Gulf South at Royal Purple Raceway on Saturday!

Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (September 12, 2011) – The Smiley’s Racing Products ASCS Gulf South Region fires back into action Saturday night at Royal Purple Raceway in Baytown, TX, with Tommy Bryant clinging to a one-point lead over two-time and defending series champion Ray Allen Kulhanek.

All that remains after Saturday’s $3,000-to-win tilt at Royal Purple is the series season-ending championship event at Battleground Speedway on October 1.

With the recent Labor Day weekend double falling victim to Tropical Storm Lee, Bryant continues to hold a slim lead over Kulhanek, with George White and Brandon Berryman remaining in striking distance of the top spot as well.

Chris Sweeney rounds out the current top five in ASCS Gulf South points, with the balance of the top ten including Travis Elliott, Channin Tankersley, Greg Rilat, Beau Smith and Michael McNeil.

There have been three different winners in as many ASCS Gulf South events at Royal Purple Raceway this season with Kolt Walker the most recent victor after Gary Wright and Michael Dupuy topped previous events.

Saturday’s green flag at Royal Purple Raceway flies at 7:00 p.m.

Royal Purple Raceway is located east of Houston on I-10 to Exit 799, then three miles south on State Highway 99, then west on FM 565. For more information, contact the track at 281-383-7223.

The Smiley’s Racing Products ASCS Gulf South Region is slated for 28 nights of racing action at eleven different tracks throughout Texas, Louisiana and Mississippi in 2011.

Past ASCS Gulf South Region Feature Winners at Royal Purple Raceway:
8/20/11 – Kolt Walker
6/18/11 – Gary Wright
4/16/11 – Michael Dupuy
9/18/10 – Jason Johnson
6/19/10 – Jason Johnson
4/3/10 – Jason Johnson
9/19/09 – Gary Wright
7/18/09 – Kevin Ramey
6/20/09 – Ray Allen Kulhanek
5/16/09 – Eric Baldaccini
9/27/08 – Jason Johnson
6/21/08 – Michael Dupuy
5/10/08 – Brandon Berryman
3/1/08 – Jack Dover
9/29/07 – Brandon Berryman
8/18/07 – Travis Rilat
5/19/07 – Johnny Miller
9/30/06 – Ray Allen Kulhanek
8/19/06 – Brad Best
6/24/06 – Ray Allen Kulhanek
4/8/06 – Travis Rilat
8/20/05 – Lane Whittington
6/18/05 – Ray Allen Kulhanek
7/10/04 – Kevin Ramey

The 2011 season marks the 20th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, with approximately 200 nights of competition at tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at