Close this search box.

ASCS Canyon Region at CSP on Saturday!

Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (September 20, 2010) – The American Sprint Car Series Canyon Region kicks off a stretch of three consecutive events at Canyon Speedway Park by taking to the semi-banked, 3/8-mile clay oval in Peoria, AZ, this Saturday night.

And with a dozen nights of competition in the books, it’s reigning series champion Charles Davis, Jr., leading the way into the weekend in his pursuit for a second straight ASCS Canyon title with another pair of CSP events in October leading into November’s Western World Championships at Tucson’s USA Raceway.

Hailing from Buckeye, AZ, “Chargin’ Charles” picked off the first of his five series wins thus far in 2010 in the series first stop of the year at Canyon Speedway Park on March 27. R.J. Johnson snared his first series win of the year when the ASCS Canyon Region returned to CSP on June 12.

While Davis has stretched out a 162-point advantage in the series title chase with five wins, ten top-fives and top-tens in all 12 features, the battle for position behind him is intense with two-time series champion Jeremy Sherman just two points ahead of R.J. Johnson in the battle for second.

Sherman and Johnson have combined to win the last four ASCS Canyon Region events, with Johnson holding the edge in overall 2010 series wins with three compared to Sherman’s two victories.

Mike Martin, a May 22 winner at Perris, CA, and Josh Pelkey are both within striking distance of the runner-up ranking as well, with the balance of the current top ten including Ronnie Clark, Dalten Gabbard, Brian Hosford and Stevie Sussex.

Saturday’s ASCS Canyon Region action at Canyon Speedway Park is slated to go green at 7:30 p.m.

Peoria’s Canyon Speedway Park is located 25 miles north of Phoenix on I-17 to Exit 223, then 6.3 miles west. For more information, contact the track at 602-258-7223.

The ASCS Canyon Region is currently slated for 18 overall nights of competition in 2010, including 13 nights in Arizona, a two-night Fourth of July weekend in New Mexico and pair of trips to California’s Perris Auto Speedway.

In its 19th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing, the American Sprint Car Series brings the best of Sprint Car racing to approximately 100 different tracks throughout 30 states and Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at