Close this search box.

ASCS Canyon Doubles up with Salute to Indy at CSP!

Cody Morris, Tulsa, Oklahoma (5-21-2012) – The sole non-winged division within the American Sprint Car Series Regional network, the ASCS Canyon Region gets back underway Saturday night for the first leg of the two-day Salule to Indy at Peoria’s Canyon Speedway Park.

Former two-time ASCS Canyon Region champion (2009,2010) and Buckeye, Arizona resident Chargin’ Charles Davis Jr. leads the pack into the Salute to Indy. A winner in three of the five Canyon contests put into the books thus far in the campaign, including a season opening score at CSP, Davis heads into the back to back set with an 86 point lead over Bruce St. James.

Running a limited schedule in the Shon Deskins owned ride this season, three-time and defending ASCS Canyon Region champ (2007,2008,2011) Jeremy Sherman took the win in the most recent ASCS Canyon event at CSP.

Canyon Speedway Park’s First Annual Salute to Indy marks the third and fourth ASCS Canyon Region events at the Peoria, Arizona that will host approximately half of the 24 events slated for the ASCS Canyon campaign.

Canyon Speedway Park is located in north Peoria, AZ, off Lake Pleasant Parkway, then 1.3 miles west on Carefree Highway. For more information, contact the track at 602-258-RACE(7223) or check online at

Past ASCS Canyon Region winners at Canyon Speedway Park:
4/30/12 – Jeremy Sherman
3/24/12 – Charles Davis Jr.
10/22/11 – RJ Johnson
9/24/11 – Charles Davis Jr.
6/11/11 – RJ Johnson
4/30/11 – Jeremy Sherman
4/29/11 – Jeremy Sherman
3/26/11 – Jeremy Sherman
10/23/10 – RJ Johnson
10/9/10 – RJ Johnson
9/25/10 – Charles Davis Jr.
6/12/10 – RJ Johnson
3/27/10 – Charles Davis Jr.

2012 ASCS Canyon Region feature winners: Charles Davis Jr. 3, Jeremy Sherman 1, Josh Pelkey 1

2012 ASCS Canyon Region point standings:

The 2012 season marks the 21st year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by MavTV, ASCS also consists of eleven different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at