Close this search box.

Arizona Speedway next up for Canyon Region

Cody Morris, Tulsa, Oklahoma (5-28-2012) – Fresh off Canyon Speedway Park’s inaugural Salute to Indy, the non winged sprint car stars of the ASCS Canyon Region head to Apache Junction’s Arizona Speedway this Saturday night (TKA Photography/Terry Shaw Photo).

Saturday night’s Canyon card features the third of six ASCS Canyon Region visits to Arizona Speedway‘s 3/8 mile oval located within the ET-Motopark.

Buckeye, Arizona’s two time ASCS Canyon title winner Charles Davis Jr. took winning honors in the inaugural ASCS Canyon visit to Arizona Speedway on April 14th. Peoria, Arizona’s Josh Pelkey pounced on his first Canyon score of the 2012 season just four weeks later on May 12th.

Recent ASCS Canyon action in Peoria produced two first time ASCS Canyon Region winner in Dalten Gabbard and Colby Copeland, but all are chasing 2012 ASCS Canyon Region point leader Charles Davis Jr.

Saturday night’s Canyon outing at Arizona Speedway will feature the eighth Canyon contest of a 2012 campaign that totals twenty four events.

Updated point standings are pending an adjustment to recent Canyon Speedway Park results and will be available in the Canyon Region tab at as soon as possible.

2012 ASCS Canyon Region feature winners: Charles Davis Jr. 3, Jeremy Sherman 1, Josh Pelkey 1, Dalten Gabbard 1, Colby Copeland 1

The 2012 season marks the 21st year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by MavTV, ASCS also consists of eleven different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at