Close this search box.

Alley Aces ASCS Midwest Season Finale as Lutz Takes Title!

Lonnie Wheatley, GREENWOOD, Neb. (September 24, 2010) – Billy Alley broke back into American Sprint Car Series victory lane by winning Friday night’s season-ending 25-lap ASCS Midwest feature event at I-80 Speedway.

While Alley added his ninth career ASCS feature win and first since topping the 2009 ASCS Midwest season opener, Eric Lutz officially became the 2010 ASCS Midwest champion with a sixth-place finish in the season finale.

After a Gage Dorr flip in turn three on the opening lap, Clint Garner, Jack Dover and Alley diced for the point much of the way until Alley took command on the 16th round. Alley raced on to the checkered flag in front of fellow past ASCS Midwest champion Dover after Garner flipped out of contention in the final circuits.

With Garner removed from the mix, Gregg Bakker took the show position while Don Droud, Jr., took advantage of the late caution to take fourth away from Jason Martin. Martin rounded out the top five, with Lutz, Chad Humston, Dustin Morgan, Jason Danley and Preston Peebles II completing the top ten.

Alley, Martin and Bakker topped heat race action for Friday night’s 29-car field, with Bryan Gossel winning the “B” Main.

ASCS Midwest Region Results from I-80 Speedway:

First Heat (10 Laps): 1. 22-Billy Alley, 2. 17-Gage Dorr, 3. 21-Ryan Kitchen, 4. 23s-Stu Snyder, 5. 6g-Bryan Gossel, 6. 0c-Preston Peebles II, 7. 6b-Frank Sheridan, 8. 14n-H.J. Norman, 9. 57x-Don Stoutner. DNS: 35-Trevor Grossenbacher.

Second Heat (10 Laps): 1. 0-Jason Martin, 2. 24a-Don Droud, Jr., 3. 53-Jack Dover, 4. 40-Clint Garner, 5. 44-Doug Lovegrove, 6. 23-Terry Holliman, 7. 23r-Tadd Holliman, 8. 9-John Webster, 9. 0x-Jeff Osborne. DNS: 7k-Robby Wolfgang.

Third Heat (10 Laps): 1. 11x-Gregg Bakker, 2. 93-Dustin Morgan, 3. 57-Jordan Boston, 4. 1m-Chad Humston, 5. 5-Eric Lutz, 6. 4x-Jason Danley, 7. 6-Nick Bryan, 8. 4j-Lee Grosz, 9. 44k-David Kubart.

“B” Feature (8 Laps): 1. 6g-Bryan Gossel, 2. 4x-Jason Danley, 3. 23-Terry Holliman, 4. 23r-Tadd Holliman, 5. 6-Nick Bryan, 6. 6b-Frank Sheridan, 7. 9-John Webster, 8. 14n-H.J. Norman, 9. 57x-Don Stoutner. DNS: 44-Doug Lovegrove, 4j-Lee Grosz, 0x-Jeff Osborne, 44k-David Kubart, 35-Trevor Grossenbacher, 7k-Robby Wolfgang.

“A” Feature (25 Laps): 1. 22-Billy Alley, 2. 53-Jack Dover, 3. 11x-Gregg Bakker, 4. 24a-Don Droud, Jr., 5. 0-Jason Martin, 6. 5-Eric Lutz, 7. 1m-Chad Humston, 8. 93-Dustin Morgan, 9. 4x-Jason Danley, 10. 0c-Preston Peebles II, 11. 23s-Stu Snyder, 12. 23-Terry Holliman, 13. 23r-Tadd Holliman, 14. 21-Ryan Kitchen, 15. 6g-Bryan Gossel, 16. 6b-Frank Sheridan, 17. 6-Nick Bryan, 18. 40-Clint Garner, 19. 57-Jordan Boston, 20. 17-Gage Dorr.

ASCS Midwest Region Points (Final Top Ten): 1. Eric Lutz 2,352, 2. Jack Dover 2,047, 3. Doug Lovegrove 1,932, 4. Brian Brown 1,631, 5. Lee Grosz 1,508, 6. Chad Humston 1,376, 7. Jason Danley 1,320, 8. Tyler Drueke 1,318, 9. Gage Dorr 1,315, 10. Billy Alley 1,225.