Close this search box.

2022 Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series Season Begins At The Devil’s Bowl

Bryan Hulbert – MESQUITE, Texas (March 14, 2022) The start of the 31st year of competition for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series is this Friday, March 18, and Saturday, March 29 with the 49th annual Devil’s Bowl Spring Nationals.

Marking the 102nd and 103rd National Tour events at the half-mile, 2021 visits to the Devil’s Bowl Speedway went to Washington’s J.J. Hickle. The first year the series has not been under Hahn ownership, Terry Mattox will be steering the ship and both owner and competition director. This weekend is also the debut of a new format for the National Tour.

“We’ve been running this format in the Lucas Oil NOW600 Series, and so far, it’s worked exactly how we wanted it to, so I’m pretty excited to see how it does this weekend,” stated Mattox. “It takes the draw out of the equation and puts a lot more back in the driver’s hands while not letting any single aspect determine your night.”

Format and rules are online at

Pits on Friday, March 18 open at Noon with Grandstands opening at 5:00 P.M. Racing begins at 8:00 P.M. (CDT). Support divisions include IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Cars, Limited Modifieds, and Factory Stocks.

Saturday, March 19 will clear the Pits at Noon with Grandstands again opening at 5:00 P.M. Racing begins at 7:00 P.M. (CDT). Support divisions include IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Cars, Limited Modifieds, Modifieds, and Factory Stocks.

Tickets each night are $25 for adults, $15 for Seniors (60+), $15 for Military and Youth (13-15), and free for Kids 12 and under. Pit Passes are $35.

Devil’s Bowl Speedway is located at 1711 Lawson Rd. in Mesquite, Texas. For tickets and directions, log onto or call (972) 222-2421.

The 2022 season will mark the 31st year of competition for the American Sprint Car Series. Spearheaded by the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network, the ASCS Nation includes Regional Tours that encompass both wing and non-wing competition.

For fans not able to attend, the series can be seen live on two platforms, with on featuring National Tour events in tandem. Both are subscription-based sites. is $20 per month, billed annually at $150 per year. All Access is $39.99 per month.

For other news, notes, and information on any of the tours under the ASCS banner, log onto, follow on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter (@LucasOilASCS).

Quick Check:

Who: Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series
What: 49th Devil’s Bowl Spring Nationals
Where: Devil’s Bowl Speedway (Mesquite, Texas)
When: Friday, March 18, and, Saturday, March 19

Times and Other Info:

Friday, March 18:

Pits: Noon
Grandstands: 5:00 P.M.
Draw: 5:45 PM – 6:15 PM
Driver’s Meeting: 6:30 P.M.
Hot Laps: 7:15 P.M.
Racing: 8:00 P.M.

Saturday, March 19

Pits: Noon
Grandstands: 5:00 P.M.
Draw: 4:45 PM – 5:15 PM
Driver’s Meeting: 5:30 P.M.
Hot Laps: 6:15 P.M.
Racing: 7:00 P.M.

Muffler Rule: ASCS Schoenfeld Muffler Required
RACEceiver: 1368


Pit Pass: $35 (Per Day)
Grandstand Admission: $25, 12 & under free (Per Day)

Contact Info: Devil’s Bowl Speedway

Address: 1711 Lawson Rd. Mesquite, TX 75181
Phone: (972) 222-2421

Track History (Devil’s Bowl Speedway):

ASCS National Tour Winners: Gary Wright -20, Jason Johnson -10, Wayne Johnson -9, Sam Hafertepe, Jr. -7, Kevin Ramey -4, Danny Jennings -3, Johnny Herrera -3, Roger Crockett -3, Sammy Swindell -3, Tony Bruce, Jr. -3, Travis Rilat -3, JJ Hickle – 3, Brian Brown -2, Garry Lee Maier -2, Jeff Swindell -2, John Carney II -2, Mike Peters -2, Shane Carson -2, Shane Stewart -2, Terry Gray -2, Aaron Reutzel -1, Alan Payne -1, Danny Lasoski -1, Edd French -1, Jack Dover -1, Jake Peters -1, Kyle Bellm -1, Larry Neighbors -1, Matt Covington -1, Mike Ward -1, Patrick Stasa -1, Scott Bogucki -1, Seth Bergman -1, Tim Crawley -1

ASCS Online:

American Sprint Car Series:
Twitter: [@lucasoilascs]
Instagram: LucasOilASCS
Broadcast: on
Live-Scoring [Where Applicable]: MRP Live

ASCS National Tour Drivers:

2 – Chase Porter (St. Joseph, MO) (R)
10 – Landon Britt (Atoka, TN) (R)
10p – Dylan Postier (Stillwater, OK) (R)
17b – Ryan Bickett (Romona, SD)
23 – Seth Bergman (Snohomishsh, WA)
24 – Garet Williamson (Columbia, MO)
36 – Jason Martin (Liberal, KS) (R)
45x – Kyler Johson (Quinter, KS) (R)
47x – Dylan Westbrook (Scotland, ONT. Can)
52 – Blake Hahn (Sapulpa, OK)
55b – Brandon Anderson (Glenpool, OK)
95 – Matt Covington (Glenpool, OK)


The American Sprint Car Series is brought to you by Lucas Oil Products ( and presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network ( Heat Races are presented by SCE Gaskets (, B-Features are sponsored by BMRS (

All Champions of the American Sprint Car Series, from National to Regional Tours, will receive a new Superior Steering Wheel (